June 2012: Swim times

Planned swim times for Myrtleville Beach. NOTE: IF THE FORECAST IS BAD, WE MAY SWIM CROSSHAVEN-CAMDEN AND NOT AT MYRTLEVILLE (OTHER THAN MONDAY) SO PLEASE CHECK IN ADVANCE THROUGH THE GOOGLE GROUP. Although a group usually assembles at the listed times, this is not guaranteed.  Swim at your own risk. Don’t swim alone. Always swim in groups.

  • Friday June 1: 15.30
  • Saturday June 2: 07.00
  • Monday June 4: 18.00
  • Wednesday June 6: 06.30
  • Thursday June 7: 20.30
  • Friday June 8: 13.30
  • Monday June 11: 18.00
  • Wednesday June 13: 06.30
  • Thursday June 14: 20.30
  • Friday June 15: 15.30
  • Saturday June 16: 07:00
  • Monday June 18: 18.00
  • Wednesday June 20: 06.30
  • Thursday June 21: 20.30
  • Friday June 22: 15.30
  • Sunday June 24 RNLI Myrtleville – Church Bay: 10.30
  • Monday June 25: 18.00
  • Wednesday June 27: 06.30
  • Thursday June 28: 20.30
  • Friday June 29: 15.30
  • Saturday June 30: 07.00

6 thoughts on “June 2012: Swim times

    • Jayde, have a look at the Routes and Distances page. We’ve got people just doing about 1k and others doing 3-4k on any given session. With the wind the last few weeks, two laps of the triangle has been a common swim – about 3 to 3.5k.

  1. Thats great! I’ve recently moved over from the UK so need to aquire kit. Where would be the best place to pick up a swimming wetsuit?

    • http://www.theedge-sports.com/store/ is where I got mine. Very helpful and a good range. Their shop beside the Kinsale Road roundabout is very accessible. I’m sure there are other suppliers in Cork, but I’ve only dealt with them and was happy. Price was much the same as on UK websites and I got to try it on in the shop rather than wait to open the packet! They sponsor various Triathlons and swims around Cork and the staff know their stuff. You can ring ahead to make sure their guy(s) with wetsuit knowledge will be there.

  2. Fair play to you for setting this up , I hope to get down there for a least 1/2 swims , anyone up for babysitting ?!

    • Thanks, Sham. It’s working well. 15 there last Monday, even with several regulars on Distance Week and even three or four turning up each Wednesday at 6.30am. Can’t help with the babysitting, though. We’ll have to work on creche facilities…..maybe we’ll apply to get an EU Grant.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s